Quick Links
- PubMed @ NMCP Includes links to subscription-based content via the "Library Services NMCP check for online" button on PubMed citations.
- Google Scholar @ NMCP Includes "Full Text @ NMCP Library" links on results.
- Google Scholar @ NMCP - How-to If the link above does not work, try the following steps.
- Discovery Tool Search books, journals, articles, and databases with this all-in-one tool.
- Citation Matcher Find a direct link to full text article using citation information; also provides option for ILL if we don't have it.
- Publication Finder Search for journals and ebooks by title available to you through NMCP subscriptions.
- Online Catalog Look up books, journals, audiobooks, and videos in the print and online collections.
Resources A-Z
5MinuteConsult
Audio Digest Platinum (registration must be done on an NMCP computer only)
Audio Digest Platinum (access)
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination (DHA cancelled as of 1 Jan 2025)
BoardVitals (registration must be done on an NMCP computer first)
Books@Ovid
CINAHL Complete
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey for Nursing
Clinical Skills
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews via Ovid
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) (CAC required)
DOD MWR Libraries
DynaMed (DHA cancelled as of 2 Feb 2025)
Embase via Elsevier
EBM Reviews via Ovid
Google Scholar
HAPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments
JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) EBP Database (DHA cancelled as of 1 Jan 2025)
Joint Commission E-dition
Journal Watch
Journals@Ovid
LexiDrug Standard (formerly Lexicomp-Medical)
LexiDrug Dentistry (formerly Lexicomp-Dental)
LWW Health Library - Emergency Medicine
LWW Health Library - Internal Medicine
MEDLINE Ultimate via Ebsco
NeoFax
OpenAthens portal (MyAthens)
OpenAthens registration
Ovid Databases (select the resource)
Ovid Emcare (DHA cancelled as of 1 Jan 2025)
Ovid MEDLINE
Patient Education Resource Center (PERC) (DHA cancelled as of 2 Aug 2024)
Pediatric Care Online
Pharmacist's Letter
PsycArticles via Ebsco
PsycBooks via Ebsco (DHA cancelled as of 1 Jan 2025)
PsychiatryOnline
PsycInfo via Ebsco
PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS)
PubMed@NMCP
ScienceDirect (1995-2010)
SPORTDiscus with Full Text via Ebsco
STAT!Ref
Travax (CAC required)
Trip
Unbound Medicine
UpToDate - Current DHA contract for UpToDate expires 31 MARCH 2025
Web of Science
Try our Discovery Tool!
This is an all-inclusive search solution that makes in-depth research easy. Search by topic and get results across databases, journals, and books.
Article retrieval, interlibrary loan, literature search assistance, serving on institutional and service-wide committees, help with mobile access and apps, fiction and nonfiction items from the Crews Library…
These are a sampling of the value-added services NMCP librarians and library technicians provide to command staff and patients.
Training and Help
Have a research project you are working on? Getting ready to publish? Want to learn how to use our resources? Need the inside scoop on apps and other special features? Library Services offers training one-on-one or for groups on searching, using library resources, EndNote, and more.
Support for Specialties
Library Services has compiled over 40 specialty portals with resource lists customized for individual specialties. These pages can be found through the Specialty Portals link on the left side (in the blue) of the homepage and throughout the Library Services’ pages.
Serving the First and Finest
Library Services is committed to serving the entire command. Please be mindful of deadlines, and plan accordingly when requesting articles and searches. Librarians have many responsibilities, both in and outside the library. We want to do the best job possible, and need your assistance in making sure things are completed in a mutually agreeable time.
OpenAthens Overview
OpenAthens is a single sign-on portal that allows access to all of the library resources. Authorized Navy Medicine health professionals may register for an OpenAthens account. In addition to access to the myAthens portal, your Athens login may be used to access subscribed content from e-journals, e-books, and databases.
Chrome or Edge users on a Navy networked-computer (it may ask to verify with your official email/CAC to access content):
Click here to register for a personal OpenAthens account
All others (Firefox is the preferred browser):
Click here to register for a personal OpenAthens account
Helpful Links
webmail (new)
NMCP intranet / esportal (CAC login)
Working from home? Use LibKey Nomad as a browser extension for Chrome or Firefox for easier access to full text along with your OpenAthens account. (Don't have one? Register here.) It's easy to set up:
- Open Chrome or Firefox.
- Download LibKey Nomad browser extension for Chrome or Firefox and click to add.
(Note: extensions are not allowed on work computers, this is for home use only.) - Search for and select Naval Medical Center Portsmouth as your institution.
- When at PubMed or a journal's website, look for the extra button to click for access.
- See the User Guide [pdf] for more details.
- PubMed @ NMCPIncludes links to subscription-based content via the "Library Services NMCP check for online" button on PubMed citations.
- find online journals and ebookssearch for journals and ebooks by title available to you through NMCP subscriptions
- Citation MatcherFind a direct link to full text article using citation information; also provides option for ILL if we don't have it.
- online catalog (CyberTools)Look up books, journals, audiobooks, and videos in the print and online collections.
CNO Professional Reading Program "Read Well to Lead Well"
Evidence-based Medicine Resources
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Popular Journals
New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)
ANNOUNCEMENT:
KNOW BEFORE YOU GO
- Library Survival Guide 2024Are you finishing up your residency or heading out on a GMO tour? Check our our library survival guide for tips and links to help you navigate this transition.
Contact Us
email Library ServicesPhone
circulation: 757-953-5383
reference: 757-953-5384
Staffed Hours
Monday-Friday 0730-1600
closed Federal holidays
After Hours Access
NMCP/NMRTC-P clinical staff may use the swipe card system at the main door to access the physical space at any time. Use your OpenAthens login for 24/7 digital access to online content.
Location
Naval Medical Center Portsmouth
620 John Paul Jones Circle
Portsmouth, VA 23708
Building 1, 4th floor
Presentations
Library Services @ Naval Medical Center Portsmouth (NMCP)
620 John Paul Jones Cir, Portsmouth, VA 23708 | Building 1, 4th floor
full-service hours 0730-1600 Monday-Friday
circulation desk: 757-953-5383 | reference desk: 757-953-5384 | usn.hampton-roads.nmrtc-portsmouth-va.list.nmcp-library@health.mil
Disclaimer: The appearance of hyperlinks to external sites does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Navy of the linked web site or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the U.S. Navy does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.