Skip to main content

Navy Medicine electronic Library (NMeL) Athens page: NMeL Home

Resource Links

Quick Links
PubMed @ NMeL 
Linking to full text from new PubMed is not working. 
Please use the link below to find the full text for articles
you would like to access.

‚ÄčJournals A-Z list via TDNetDiscover
Books A-Z list via TDNetDiscover
 

Navy/DHA Subscription Resources

Audio Digest Platinum (access)
Audio Digest Platinum Registration (must use a DoD computer)
Books@Ovid
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey for Nursing
Clinical Skills
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews via Ovid
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
DynaMed
EBM Reviews via Ovid
Health Business Elite via EBSCO
Health Policy Reference Center via EBSCO
Isabel
JBI -Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database 
Joint Commission E-dition
Journals@Ovid
Lexicomp Dental 
Lexicomp Medical
MDGuidelines
MEDLINE Complete via EBSCO
Natural Medicines
‚ÄčOvid Databases (select the resource)
Ovid Emcare 
Ovid MEDLINE
Patient Education Resource Center (PERC)
PEMSoft
PsycARTICLES via Ovid
PsychiatryOnline
PsycINFO via Ovid
PubMed@NMeL
ScienceDirect  - Previously Subscribed Titles from 1995-2010 (approximately)
STAT!Ref
UpToDate

Journal Subscribed Titles

Annals of the ICRP (SAGE Journal)
Diabetes  (ADA Journal)
Diabetes Care (ADA Journal)
Laryngoscope (Wiley Journal)
Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery (SAGE Journal)
Pediatrics (AAP Journal)
Pediatrics In Review (AAP Journal)
Radiographics (RSNA journal)
Radiology (RSNA journal)

Additional Resources

Athens Login
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
Navy MWR Digital Library - requires CAC
PTSDpubs formerly PILOTS
Travax - requires CAC                
Trip     

NMCP libguides

NMCSD libguides

Welcome to the Navy Medicine electronic Library (NMeL) Athens page

Welcome to the Navy Medicine Electronic Library (NMeL) Athens homepage.

The Navy Medicine electronic Library (NMeL) provides access to core resources for Navy medical personnel through Navy Medicine and DHA contracts. This page was designed to help NMeL users access resources from their desktop at work, home or in an offsite location. 

The resources linked on this page should work via IP authentication when you are on a military network, or through Athens when you are not.  Some of these resources allow you to create personal accounts from your military workstation.  These resources will accept your personal accounts for your login. Please see the mobile app guide for more information on these resources.

Athens Overview

Athens is a single sign-on portal that allows access to all of the library resources. Authorized Navy Medicine health professionals may register for an Athens account. In addition to access to the Athens portal, your Athens login may be used to access many NMCP e-journals, e-books, and databases at the publisher websites where you see a link to an Athens login.

Athens requires registration to establish a username and password that will allow offsite access from any computer  to e-journals, e-books and databases through agreements between Athens and individual providers/publishers.

Register for an Athens Account

Click here to register for a personal Athens account

You must use a DoD computer and your DoD email address for your initial registration. During the registration process you will be asked to select the duty station to which you are assigned. Select Navy Medicine electronic Library.  Please do not register more than once.

Athens self-registration is a two step process. Watch for a follow-up e-mail message from noreply@OpenAthens.net. Be sure that you activate your account by following the directions given in the e-mail message that you receive from Athens after registration.  Please remember your password! 


To register, you must:

  1. Be affiliated with a Navy medical department facility to include: research institutes and laboratories, environmental health centers, disease vector centers, schools and training activities, occupational health and prevention medicine units and information management centers.
  2. Register on-site from your duty location; once registered, you can then access from on and off-site. If you cannot register from your duty location, contact your respective library POC.
  3. Supply a valid DoD email address to receive your username and password.
  4. If you do not have valid DoD email address, contact the "Navy Medicine Electronic Library" POC. If you do not belong to any of the libraries listed, contact the "Navy Medicine Electronic Library" POC.
  5. When you change duty stations, contact the respective library POC and request to have your OpenAthens account moved to the appropriate library account. Do not create a new account.

Mobile Apps and Personal Accounts

Patient Education Resources

 

Patient Health Education Portal: Home
created by Darnall Medical Library at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

NMeL Athens Contacts

To find your local library, or your NMeL contact, you will need to log in to your Athens account at https://my.openathens.net.  Look for the list of library contacts from the home tab.

Additional Navy and DHA Library contacts

NMCSD Library

NHRC

WRNMMC Darnall Library

Defense Medical Virtual Library (DMVL)

 

Navy medical librarians developed this site in cooperation with NMeL. Library Services, NMCP hosts and maintains the site.

Disclaimer: The appearance of hyperlinks to external sites does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Navy of the linked web site or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the U.S. Navy does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.

This page was developed and is maintained by Library Services at Naval Medical Center Portsmouth. Contact us at: usn.hampton-roads.navhospporsva.list.nmcp-library@mail.mil

Disclaimer: The appearance of hyperlinks to external sites does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Navy of the linked web site or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the U.S. Navy does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.