Resources: A-Z
Note: Athens and/or CAC login may be required when not on a command-networked computer; some resources are not available off-network.
- AccessAnesthesiology Content is focused on anesthesiology. McGraw-Hill AccessMedicine offers medical textbooks, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, videos and podcasts, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine Content is focused on emergency medicine. McGraw-Hill's AccessEmergency Medicine offers medical textbooks, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, videos and podcasts, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
- AccessMedicine McGraw-Hill AccessMedicine offers medical textbooks, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, videos and podcasts, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
- AccessSurgery Content is focused on surgery and related specialties. McGraw-Hill's AccessSurgery offers medical textbooks, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, videos and podcasts, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
- Agricola Created and maintained by the United States Department of Agriculture, the Agricola (AGRICultural OnLine Access) database serves as the catalog and index for the collections of the United States National Agricultural Library. It also provides public access to information on agriculture including animal and veterinary sciences, and human nutrition. Searching Agricola is required for IACUC animal protocol applications.
- AHRQ The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) conducts and supports health services research, both within AHRQ in academic institutions, hospitals, physicians' offices across the United States. The AHRQ provides information for patients and healthcare professionals on comparative effectiveness research, patient safety, evidence-based medicine, and health IT.
- CINAHL Complete CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
- ClinicalTrials.gov ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. Resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source Dentistry & Oral Science Source covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. The database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.
- DTIC Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) is the repository for research and engineering information for the United States Department of Defense. DTIC's Suite of Services is available to DoD personnel. The general public can access unclassified, unlimited information, including many full-text downloadable documents, through the public site. The DoD side (R&E Gateway) requires a CAC login.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
- Health Business Elite Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text content for more than 570 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more.
- Health Policy Reference Center The Health Policy Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of corporations, medical institutions, government agencies, and other entities relative to health policy. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information essential to all aspects of the health policy discipline. This collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to health policy including, but not limited to: health care access, health care quality, health care financing, etc. The database features hundreds of thousands of records, and offers complete coverage of more than 200 full-text titles. Searchable cited references are also provided.
- PubMed @ NMCP Includes links to subscription-based content via the "Library Services NMCP check for online" button on PubMed citations.
- Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source contains full-text for over 190 sports and rehabilitation journals. This is a key database for hospital rehabilitation and sports clinicians, with full-text coverage dating back to 1963 and key scholarly titles in this discipline.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1930, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
- PubMed@NMCP This link opens in a new window Includes: citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations have links to full text content through library subscriptions (look for "Library Services at NMCP check for online") along with free full text from PubMed Central. Coverage: 1966 to present
- Trip Turning Research Into Practice (Trip) is a clinical search engine whose primary function is to help clinicians identify the best available evidence with which to answer clinical questions. Its roots are firmly in the world of evidence-based medicine.
- UpToDate Clinical reference tool comprised of thousands of original topic reviews written by recognized faculty who provide reviews on specific clinical issues with detailed recommendations UpToDate is intended to give clinicians concise, practical answers at the point of care.
- Web of Science Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index) as well as the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
For the A-Z list of available databases, see: https://nmcp.libguides.com/az.php
Contact Us
Phone
circulation: 757-953-5383
reference: 757-953-5384
Staffed Hours
Monday-Thursday 0730-1400
closed Federal holidays
After Hours Access
NMCP/NMRTC-P clinical staff may use the swipe card system at the main door to access the physical space at any time. Use your OpenAthens login for 24/7 digital access to online content.
Location
Naval Medical Center Portsmouth
620 John Paul Jones Circle
Portsmouth, VA 23708
Building 1, 4th floor
Library Services @ Naval Medical Center Portsmouth (NMCP)
620 John Paul Jones Cir, Portsmouth, VA 23708 | Building 1, 4th floor
full-service hours 0730-1400 Monday-Thursday | self-service hours 1400-1600 Monday-Thursday
circulation desk: 757-953-5383 | reference desk: 757-953-5384 | usn.hampton-roads.navhospporsva.list.nmcp-library@health.mil
Disclaimer: The appearance of hyperlinks to external sites does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Navy of the linked web site or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the U.S. Navy does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.