Skip to a Section
Jump into our guide here:
Or skip to the section relevant to you:
Evidence Based Practice, Quality Improvement, and Research
(Sanchez, 2024)
About this Guide
After viewing this guide, you will be able to:
- Distinguish between the scopes of evidence based practice, quality improvement / process improvement, and research.
- Navigate to NMCP Library resources that teach you proper methods for conducting the project of your choice.
- Identify NMCP departments or organizations who can support you as you complete your project.
request literature searchQuick Tools
-
Citation MatcherFind a direct link to full text article using citation information; also provides option for interlibrary loan if we do not own the resource.
-
Publication FinderSearch for journals and ebooks by title available to you through NMCP subscriptions.
-
Online CatalogLook up books, journals, audiobooks, and videos in the print and online collections.
-
Offsite Access via OpenAthensRegister an account to use library materials from anywhere.
Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Resources
-
ACP Journal Club (via EBM Reviews) This link opens in a new window Monthly feature in Annals of Internal Medicine that summarizes the latest evidence-based clinical information relevant to internal medicine and its subspecialties published in over 120 leading medical journals. Coverage: 1991-Present
-
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research. Coverage: 2005 - Present
-
EBMCalc This link opens in a new window Reference a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools. Coverage:1998-2024
-
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window Provide best-evidence answers to the most important clinical questions concerning symptoms, diseases, drugs, and other treatment regimens. Its concise, highly structured content is tightly integrated and hyperlinked to thousands of calculators, articles, Cochrane Systematic Reviews, and evidence summaries within EE+ to make searching for answers quick and seamless. Each topic has a "strength-of-evidence" rating for every recommendation, a "Bottom Line" summary that introduces each section, and a broad array of algorithms to aid in the decision-making process. Coverage: Present
-
EvidenceAlerts This link opens in a new window EvidenceAlerts is an Internet service that notifies physicians and researchers about newly-published clinical studies. Researchers at the McMaster Health Information Unit find the highest quality studies, reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from 112 premier clinical journals and these articles are rated by practicing physicians for clinical relevance and interest. Alerts are curated to your own clinical interests. Coverage: Present
-
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Make clinical decisions at the point of care based on a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence, followed by recommendations. Coverage: Present
-
ClinicalKey - Clinical Overviews This link opens in a new window Comprehensive clinical topic summaries from Elsevier Point of Care. Updated: Present
-
5MinuteConsult This link opens in a new window Find fast, evidence-based answers to your clinical questions at the point of care. Coverage: Present
